Support for SermonSpeaker 4.x is canceled as it is for Joomla 2.5. I will gladly assist you with minor issues but I will not fix any bugs anymore in this releases.
The fix is to upgrade to SermonSpeaker 5.x and Joomla 3.x, which is better anyway.

Can not get sermons to play

More
06 Nov 2012 18:23 #2704 by Eric Smith
I'm a newbie to SermonSpeaker and I'm very excited about what it will be able to do for my church's website. The problem I'm having is I can't get the thing to work. I'm in the process of upgrading my site to joomla 2.5.6 and I've downloaded SermonSpeaker 4.4.6 and installed the component and all of the modules/plugins. I tried uploading a few video/audio files via the backend and while it looked like the files were uploaded, I could not find them. I uploaded an audio file via FTP and it uploaded correctly and I can see it when I create a sermon. I created a sermon using that file and saved it. I followed the instructions for creating the menu item and now it will list the sermon but it will not play. What am I doing wrong? I know it's probably something simple. Here's the link to my problem child..... poplartentpresbyterianchurch.org/jupgrad.../mediacenter/sermons

p.s. I've tried viewing this with both IE and Chrome and I have the same issue with both.

Thanks for any and all help.

Eric

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Nov 2012 19:37 #2705 by Thomas Hunziker
You didn't mention it thus I ask: Did you save the Settings? Not saving them initially can produce strange errors. Especially the columns section is worth a look as well. It's where you enable the player and what infos to show.

But then it doesn't look like the file got linked to the sermon. You may want to check that again. If it's in the dropdown list, make sure the list is active and not the textfield.